Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

postgraduate study

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited March 27 in Work & Study
I will of course be contacting my uni about this but for now i have a few questions for that i'd appreciate some feedback from anyone in the know!

Ive decided that i want to stay on at uni as a postgraduate. One reason is because i want to stay a student for that little bit longer, but ive always had the idea of postgraduate study in the back of my mind but ignored it because i thought i'd never be able to afford it.

But im feeling all ambitious, and i want to better my knowledge. I feel like i want to make it happen. The uni i did my degree at has a course that more or less follows on from my degree and i'd love to do it. Also, i didnt try as hard as i should have with my degree and i think i will end up with a 2:2 which is fine but i want more, and i want soemthing to work towards.

But i have a few queries:

1) With a post-graduate course, will i have enough spare time for a part time job?

2) Im not sure if my degree is good enough to get me in, does any degree mark count?

3) Im not sure how early i would need to apply to get in for this september, am i too late already?

4) I have no idea how much it will cost, and what i would have to pay. For my degree i got my tuition fee's paid due to low family income, will this be the same as a post-grad?

5) As for living costs, i would need at least £300 to live off per month and thats without a social life. If i could work 8 hours a week i could earn about £150 per month, but i would need some sort of financial help for the rest. Are student loans available for post-graduate courses?

If anyone could offer any advice that would be great!

Cheers
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru