Home Home, Law & Money
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Benefits

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
If you can't work due to illness how much can you claim in benefits?

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    think it depends on your circumstances, like are you a homeowner etc...
    Does anyone know like a website or something with the guidelines on or something?
    Depends if its classed as a disbility i think.
    not sure about benefits, but if you are in work and then have to take time off due to illness, you could get statutory sick pay, which is something pathetic like £60 a week.
    Basically my situation is this: I am a student doing my finals at the moment but when I finish I am going on holiday for 6 weeks and then I am coming back to go to a day hospital every day for a year because I am head-fucked. They told me to claim benefits but not much else. Also I am obliged to stay living in Camden Borough as it is a referal with Camden Primary Care Trust so if I moved to a different part of London I would have to start the referal process all over again. But I'm in halls at the moment, I leave 10th June so I'll have to find somewhere to live but I can't really go about sorting that out until I know how much money I'll have. It's really rather scary and depressing.
    Incapacity Benefit

Have a look on there, that should help you out.
    Randomgirl wrote: