Home Sex & Relationships
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

asking for money back without being cheeky

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
One of my friends owes my mum a fiver for her ticket to my dance show at easter. I've been asking for the money off all my friends for well over 2 months, all but 1 got me the money on time to buy the tickets (£5.75 each). One still hasn't paid (thats why my mum ended up paying as she used her card to make it easier). It's been about 7 or 8 weeks since the tickets were bought....she gets £50 a month pocket money so i asked her the other day if she could pay it back soon because she show is just over 2 weeks away. She said 'i hope so' then this weekend went on a massive shopping spree and spent the money. This probably sounds pathetic but i'm a bit annoyed...its only a fiver and theres been loads of time to pay for it....how can i ask again without sounding funny?

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    just say youre short of cash and it would be good if she could give the money back as soon as possible..

i loaned a friend £90 last term to put a deposit down for our house next year. still have not got money back yet. i feel cheeky asking for it though because it was her birthday yesterday and i know that she (and her family) isnt really very well off.. whereas she knows that i can afford it.

i dont really think there is a way of asking without sounding funny. just ask as nicely as possible i guess!
    Who cares if you sound funny? It's not even your money; so just say that your mum is asking you when you can get it? Even say she's on your back about if, if that'll help (whether it's true or not).