Home General Chat
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

What the Internet? Status: Confounded

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hello everyone, I need help here. I’ve just acquired a new flat yesterday and would like to install an internet connection however I have no experience regarding this.

The flat had a previous telephone line with BT which they say can be reactivated. I know that BT offer internet service and I’ve checked the website but only found it confusing. The usage result from the broadband usage calculator was over 10 GB because I stream video and radio and sometime leave the connection on whether downloading or not, though I am unsure of my calculations. Anyway, it seems that my usage is closer to Option 2 but it has, what I think is, a 6 GB limit. What is this limit about? What would happen if I go over the limit? Would I have to pay more or would the connection stop until the following month?

Option 2 also offers a wireless modem/connection for a fee of £25. Is it worth it? However, I think it would be more convenient to be able to use the computer/internet wherever in or out of the house. What do you think of having a wireless connection? What are the problems with a wireless connection that are not so obvious? Moreover, is the modem that BT provides any good? What if I will provide my own wireless modem, would I still have to pay BT the fee? Or, is it better to take the BT modem than to supply my own? Had enough? Well, there’s more…