Home Politics & Debate
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Drug trials

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I searched the forum but couldn't find anything about them, I may have the terminology wrong.
After hearing about the 6 guys that developed multiple organ failure due to certain drug trials, it reminded me of a friend who went one a few a year ago and made quite a bit of money from it.
It's quite fanciable, $ for something that does relatively little harm (I know what I said earlier, but it seems rare). I'm an 18 year old student, don't drink, don't smoke and am in pretty good physical condition and have had no diagnosis of a mental disorder - would I make a good participant?
What do you think about them? Any past experiences?

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    do you live in the uk? theres one company that used to get advertised on the radio quite a lot. i can't remember the name but i'm sure if you googled you would find something. it depends on what drug they are trialling, some want people with certain medical conditions and some want totally healthy people. i think you just sign up and then they contact you if you are suitable.

my friend did one a couple of years ago where she had to put a disinfectant cream on her hands about 6 times a day. it stunk! can't remember how mcuh she got for it though.

also, about those 6 guys.. its so awful. apparently theyre all young men and doctors have said that they could die at any moment. how lucky would you be feeling now if you were one of the 2 who got the placebo.
    i wouldn't touch it with a barge pole!!!