Home Politics & Debate
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

South Dakota Passes Anti Abortion Bill

Comments

• Options
    Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    1) I'd rather a woman didn't require the signature of two doctors.
    2) Not at this moment in time
    3) Birth.. Once, at the point of birth it no longer resides in the woman's body, it's its own person in its own right. Kind of makes all the, "Would you think it's ok to kill a 2 year old then" a bit redundant
  • Options
    (1) Do you believe that abortion laws in the UK are the right ones?

Should be made easier at the early stages.

(2) Would you support a reduction in the 24-week time limit that currently exists?

see question 3

(3) At what point do you believe personally that a foetus becomes a baby?

Around about 20-24 weeks, though given I'm not a Doctor I'm open to persuasion either way. Its at that stage (whenever it is) abortion becomes more difficult - I'm not saying abortion shouldn't happen beyond this stage but we need to balance the needs and rights of the mother against that of the unborn child.
  • Options
    stargalaxy wrote:
    (1) Do you believe that abortion laws in the UK are the right ones?
    (2) Would you support a reduction in the 24-week time limit that currently exists?
    (3) At what point do you believe personally that a foetus becomes a baby?

1) They're almost there.
    2) No.
    3) I'd say, like go_away, when it can exist independently of its mother.

(I'm predicting contention here, because of course a lot of happily pregnant women would refer to their 12 week curavture of the stomach as their "baby". I think in those cases that's because it's what it is to become. I don't think that by definition it is a "baby" but a foetus.)
  • Options