Home Politics & Debate
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Muslims and the environment

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I'll try not to ramble too much on this issue. I am by no means an expert and wanted some opinions. I was reading an article in Aljazeera the other day(I read Aljazeera sometimes to get different viewpoints) and it was discussing different social values from the East and the West in regards to family and civilization.

http://english.aljazeera.net/NR/exeres/6A50D011-7047-43C6-A60A-3C5B985BB70F.htm

Basically, we view arranged marriages, women's right, birth rates ect. in a more liberal manor, but they view the decreased birth rates in some western societies as a huge weakness and very impractical in regards to population growth. I know many Roman Catholics are concerned over this issue as well(reproduction and growth in order to spread your faith).

I guess my question is do Muslims consider the environment in matters such as overpopulation at all or are they just concerned with procreation and spreading the Muslim faith. I never read about any muslim nations becoming very involved in environmental issues. I think Christianity and its attitude toward seperation of mankind and nature is bad enough and I'm certainly not going to defend it. In fact its the biggest factor that turned me away from Christianity 12 years ago.

My whole point is that shouldn't this issue be one of the largest in what we consider is a society that adapts well to the future by practical means.

Comments

• Options
    viridis wrote:
    I think Christianity and its attitude toward seperation of mankind and nature is bad enough QUOTE]
    could you explain this to me?
  • Options