Home Sex & Relationships
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Condom help

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I feel a bit stupid about this, seeing as i'm 25 and have been having sex for 8 months, but i've never used a condom (I came close once a few years back, but it ended in disaster).

But now, due to certain circumstances I have to (or go without sex). The trouble is I seem to have this "thing" about condoms, I hate them, the thought of using them etc. The last (and only) time i've tried to use one it was a bit of a mess, I ended up loosing my erection and just didn't want to even try again. Admitidly my girlfriend at the time was VERY unhelpful, she ended up leaving me because of it!

Anyway, I'm now with a girl who i've been sleeping with for 8 months (she's on the pill) and I want to use a condom, but I don't know what to do about this thing I have about them. I know how to put them on etc. it's really just a mental thing I need to get over. I just wondered if you guys had any suggestions? How can I fit in the putting it on into the whole process without disrupting what we're up to. If I have to stop everything and spend a couple of minutes putting it on i'm likely to lose my "state of arousal". Do you think it would be an idea to get used to putting them on before I try and use them for real, try using them on my own, if you know what I mean?

Any advice is much apprecitated, thanks!

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Putting on a condom will disturb the act no matter what, you can't prevent it.
    get her to put it on for you or something...............
    ~kaz~ wrote:
    Putting on a condom will disturb the act no matter what, you can't prevent it.