Home Home, Law & Money
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Mortgages

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Does anyone know (or know where I can find out) if a PhD studentship counts as income when it come to mortgages? I'm in my first year of an MPhil/PhD and currently get £9.5k (could rise to 12k if I get an AHRC grant) plus £3.1k from working part-time.

I'm not sure why I'm asking, as the chances of us being able to move out any time soon with a joint income of £35000 are pretty slim to non-existant, but hey.....

At the moment I'm feel pretty damn guilty, because I think my 'career' choice means us postponing being able to move out of the bfs mum's place for at least 3 years, but if I know my money could count towards our joint income, it means there's at least some chance of us being able to look in 2 years, when t'other half finishes his training contract.

Bloody London house-prices :(

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    With a joint income of 35,000 you should easily be able to get a mortgage on a property around the 100K mark. As GWST says, get an IFA to have a look for you and get some quotes.

I've just bought a house, and got a 75k Mortgage paying back around 465quid per month, and that's fixed for 2 years (I did this so I know what I'm paying out for the foreseeable future). This mortgage also paid most of my fees too (they call it HWC - help with costs, and providing you stay with them for the tie in period (2 years in my case), they pay your solicitors and arrangement fees).

Shop around though, there are some good deals out there at the mo, the market does seem to be slowing.
    Basically I can't add anything to what GWST said, we got a very good deal on what is a marginally lower combined income than yours.
    Thanks everyone for giving me a bit of optimism!
    Kermit wrote: