Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Starting at College

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited March 27 in Work & Study
I am currently a year 11. I am being home schooled but do my exams in school as I am still heavily linked with them. In other words working at home. This all happened after 3 years of depression, running away to places often and a suicide attempt.

I am now looking at my options for 16+.

I really dont know if I will be able to handle college or If I will get the grades to go into do A-Level.

I kind of want to. Kind of dont.

Can anyone enlighten me on what College is REALLY like?

Thank you!
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    I absolutely LOVED college!I hated secondary school, but found college amazing. Even know when i'm in my second year in uni, i still look back on college as the best time ever.

As to what it is really like, i would think it would depend upon the person in question, and you will only get out of it what you put in. If you are worried about doing academic subjects like maths and english, why don't you try something more vocational.If it is a half way decent college it will do things like beauty, tourism, mechanics, childcare, theatre, art and sports plus many others. If push comes to shove, you could always try an apprentiship. But don't think that once you chose a course you are stuch with it. The new AS and A level system is very flexible.as you can study subjects for 2 years for a full A level, 1 year for an AS, and you can also drop subjects, as long as you keep a minimum of 3.