Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

hate it

BillieTheBotBillieTheBot Posts: 8,721 Bot
edited March 27 in Work & Study
I went back to my placement at the hospital this week after 6 weeks off (due to my marriage ending)
The first day back was fine, the second day was ok-ish, and today I went in, and just felt like id rather be ANYWHERE than there, so told them i wasnt feeling well and have come home. Ive felt doubts on and off for months, but kept plodding on. felt disillusioned, wondered if i was in the right branch of nursing, wondered if im just a shit student etc. Ive been doing it for 10 months and its a 4 year course.
Im also concerned financially. Ive been trying to get in touch with NHS grants for 2 months with no avail. Theres been a lot of trouble with them lately because theyre so hard to contact, but it means i cant get the extra money im entitled to for being a single parent now, nor can i get the evidence i need to claim housing benefit.
Its all too much and i dont think ill be going back :(
Beep boop. I'm a bot.
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Awww honey - don't give up just yet. Its always going to be hard the first few days back especially after this type of break.

Stick it out to christmas (if possible its only a few more weeks) and then review your options - for the new year.

There must have been something which motivated you to become a nurse in the first place and it would be bad to give up your dream just because you had one or two bad days. Additionally if you want to move to another branch of nursing it would probably be much easier to do it after you've completed the first year of your course.