Home General Chat
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Foreign money

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited January 2023 in General Chat
When I travel abroad now, wil it be easiest to just have cash or travlers checks? I have a Visa debit/credit card from my bank, then I have a Exxon Mobile Mastercard. (A mastercard that I can use anywhere that accepts but I got thru the gas station) Now will say Ireland accept those credit cards at places? I dont know how the credit card thing goes abroad. Any information? Thanks in advance.
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Your best option is to take some money and then see if you can use your debit card to withdraw money abroad. You might get charged for this, but you get charged using travellers cheques too.

You could also get money out on your Mastercard but you might get a shite rate and fee's for doing that.
    The thing is though, although my visa is a debit, I never actually use it as a debit. I always credit it. I guess your right, I could withdrawl money, but I would get charged for that because I'm not using my bank. And also, wouldn't the rate be just as shitty if you did that?
    If I use my debit card abroad the rate isnt that bad, not really better or worse than the one you would get with cheques or buying currency.
    i always take enough cash to last me the first day and then just withdraw on my debit cards, cash machines everywhere these days
    koe_182 wrote:
    i always take enough cash to last me the first day and then just withdraw on my debit cards, cash machines everywhere these days

The problem with withdrawling though, is unless I withdraw at my bank I get charged. I get charged at the atm i'm using, then my bank charges me too for not using theirs. So I want to avoid that at all cost.