Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

student jobs

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited March 27 in Work & Study
this kind of stems off muses thread ACCOMODATION and money matter

does anyone have any advice on getting a job whilst at uni???
Im doing a degree at college so my term dates are odd! im there for a month then im bk home for 10days for half term. then im there for another month then im bk for 3weeks for xmas! i dont think im allowed to stay in halls in the hols, so i have to go home. no employer would b happy with me talking time off as often as this! but i wil need a job for extra money to cover costs as the loan will only cover rent. any advice?
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    You should double check about holidays. I was allowed to stay in halls, but some of my friends were kicked out, the divide seemed roughly catered and self-catered.

You could get a part-time job during term-time, employers in uni towns are used to the ways of students. If you work for a big company like pizza hut (and it's franchises) tescos tkmaxx etc, you can get transfered for holidays.
    thanks. ill look into mcdonalds pizza hut ect :)
    Have u thought of your uni union? They are very flexible on hours and are prob closed or reduced hours during hols
    I worked in a nightclub during my first year at uni about 3 times a week from 9pm until 5am.
    It was ok but I probably wouldnt do it again, I was in halls so I couldn't sleep in the next day cos it was noisy, I often missed lectures the morning after work and my bodyclock was a bit of a mess. I'm naturally a nightowl so prefer doing nightshifts though.