Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Curriculum Vitae

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I'm writing my CV so I can start applying for jobs straight away when I get to uni.

I've never written one before in my life, so if anyone could give me some pointers that'd be great. I've only had one job (although I had it for two years) so I'm worried it'll be a bit bare.

Also, do I write down the grades for AS levels if I carried them on to A level?

Ta.

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Curriculum Vitae
    Lil Laura wrote:
    I'm writing my CV so I can start applying for jobs straight away when I get to uni.

I've never written one before in my life

Ok.. if you've never written one then I'm assuming you have no past employment??

Employers aren't generally interested in ALL your Gcses and A levels etc, particularly if your already at uni. Basics: name, address, contact details, past schools - secondary/sixth form only, employment history - brief, if you have on, interests, and a short paragraph about what job you want, i.e. student on uni course, interested in retail on a part time basis/bar work, outgoing, fun, really hard working, good team player, willing to work flexible hours etcetera.

hope this helps :):blush:
    Tailor it to the job you are applying for.

I break mine down into sections:

Personal - a short paragraph about yourself and your motivations.
    Qualifications - with details of schools/ colleges attended and approx dates.
    Other qualifications - first aid courses, driving licenses etc
    Employment history or work experience - detail any jobs you had, starting with the oldest first. For previous jobs or work experience keep it short but detail key roles.