Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Alcohol and the liver

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
As a student, I've been a very heavy drinker since approximately the age of 17. I've been known to drink 70+ units in a week, sadly.

I'm now starting to worry about what I may have done to my body, and that liver damage is silent until it gets very serious. I'm now 20, and although I'm still young, do you think it's possible I've damaged myself? I heard recently the story of a girl aged 20 who started drinking at 12 and was the youngest person to receive a liver transplant through alcoholic liver damage.

Although cutting alcohol out altogether isn't my aim, I have started producing a "drinking diary" to try and remain within my 21-28 units per week.

Do you think I may need a liver function test?

I'm not an alcoholic, I just find it quite difficult to say no to nights out, and I often drink out of boredom.

***Edited because of a mis-spelling that put my post out of context.

Comments

• Options
    No you don't need it, you need to be a proper alcoholic for like 20 years to do any serious damage to your liver, however you're not doing it any favours now and you might have to re-consider your drinking habits. Though you're a student, so go mad :thumb:
  • Options
    Have anyone been watching the Donation series on the BBC - there was a youngish guy who had to get a liver translplant after drinking heavily for 5 years after the death of his parents.