Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Returning to studying - some advice needed!

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited March 27 in Work & Study
I studied at Durham university for two academic years (2001-2003), left and now work in a GPs surgery and I'm studying towards a degree with the Open University.

I've been thinking a lot recently about going back to university (most probably Northumbria or Newcastle) to study for a history degree, with the eventual aim of becoming a history teacher.

When I applied to uni the first time around I was told what to do and when by the teachers at sixth form. They even went as far as to get our UCAS forms for us and contact our LEAs.

I'm a bit rusty about the application process so I was hoping that some of you who have more recent experience of applying could help me.

Do I contact my LEA for help with my finances?
How likely is it that they will fund another degree attempt given that I dropped out of my first attempt? (Anyone had a second attempt funded?)
Who can supply a reference for my UCAS form? All the teachers from sixth form won't remember me by now so all I can think of is my employer giving me a reference... is that acceptable?

I've had a quick glance at the UCAS website and apparently you can't apply in paper form anymore! :eek2: How things change! I'm also really confused by the new points system that has been introduced. :eek:

It all seems so complicated!
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• Options
    hiya!

I left my first course (I don't like the term dropped out!) and had no problems at all getting my second degree funded. However I have a feeling they only fund you for 4 years..maybe enquire at your local LEA to find out.