Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Karen Millen...

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Right, after lots of anxiety and panicking, I'm (hopefully) going to apply for a part time job in Karen Millen. But, I have no previous retail experience. I have a huge passion for fashion and am studying dressmaking/fashion design.

Do you think this would be enough? (I have GCSE'S and A Levels) I'm not a confident person at all, but would love to work for someone like Karen Millen... do you think they'd employ someone with no retail experience?

Ilora x

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    If the employer gets a strong positive vibe from you about your intelligence in a field they require, in this case fashion etc, then you can be as desirable as a person who worked in retail at a flower shop, if not more. Its one thing to have retail experience, but another to have an interest in the job itself. If that made sense :p
    Yeah, that made complete sense. I just don't know if I'm confident enough in an interview to be enthusiastic enough to get the job. (I'm a very shy person)
    I know that Nicky Clarke (hairdresser) got his first job purely on natural talent and not on how many exams he'd passed (in his case, none, he dropped out of school before 16!).

Meh, I'm just all low self esteemish. I feel that I'm not 'good enough' to work for a place like Karen Millen :(
    I usually chicken out of applying anywhere. But this time, something's gotta change damnit. :yes: I can't live my life being a hermit and being on the dole. I wanna be rich damnit. :yes:

Ilora x
    God almighty, just apply already. How in hell should we know if they will take you on or not?
    end of the day someone has to employ you with your first job, might as well be them or the next one, go for it