Home Drink & Drugs
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Cannabis and brainpower

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hi all, sorry if this topic has been brought up before but I'm a bit of a newbie so don't know these things :p
Anyway, I'm currently in the throes of A Level revision and my friends are bringing some weed tomorrow, which I wouldn't mind trying. But I'm worried it might affect my revision, like wipe my mind blank of everything I've learned or something, so should I wait until after my exams?
I know that cannabis can affect your short term memory, but how bad is it and how long does it last? How long will it be before I can revise properly again?
Any advice/warnings would be much appreciated. :)

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    no cannabis shouldn't wipe out completely anything you've learned, you should be alright for only a small toke...cannabis will though affect your will to revise which is a totally different problem altogether :)
    Weed affects your short term memory. Anything you attempt to learn around the toke, your f**ked.
    Davy wrote:
    Weed affects your short term memory. Anything you attempt to learn around the toke, your f**ked.

how long will it be till my memory gets back to normal?
    Well I've always done it in the evening and dozed off so I'm back to normal in the morning. I'm not experienced enough to say for sure but I would definately not recommend it earlier in the day, before you attempt any revision. Get sleep afterwards and you should be fine.

Btw I said affects, not completely wipes out your short term memory :P
    Johonne wrote:
    how long will it be till my memory gets back to normal?