Home We Need You
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

The Quarterlife Crisis

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I’m a postgraduate journalism student in Glasgow, and I’m writing my final project on the Quarterlife Crisis. It’s a term that’s had more of an airing in America, but recently it’s been getting some coverage here.

A quarterlife crisis is characterised by anxiety, self-doubt and a sense of inferiority. Young people in their twenties find themselves craving much more than a secure salary and a good enough job – they want a career capable of satisfying their deep-seated talents and need for ongoing stimulation.

The quarterlife crisis is also typified by the sense that you can only find true happiness if you know what you want to be doing with your life.

While I’ve spoken to professionals and have numerous case studies, what I’m looking for are young people’s reactions to this. The project is purely academic for the moment, although there is a possibility that it would be published.

What I want to know is whether you’ve experienced similar feelings to those I’ve listed above. Is this a real phenomenon, and if so, why?

Or is it nothing more than a label, used as comfort blanket for the Jerry Springer generation?

Your thoughts and opinions would be welcomed and appreciated.

Any questions please contact me on - jo_macfarlane@yahoo.co.uk

Comments

• Options
    Has Jimbo had a crisis?

Looksee

My own view is that this is another nonsense name given to entirely normal emotions. Made up to keep people like you off the streets.
  • Options
    So do you think it doesn't warrant a name? When you call these emotions 'normal' do you think they've been present through the generations rather than being particular to this one?

I'm just interested in whether it's a valid explanation of what's really going on.

So, is it?
  • Options