Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Defeat of the beer belly

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hi

Whats the best exercise to flatten the belly? lol

Ive started to go swimming for an hour a day - 4 days a week. Is that a good way? Or should be I be doing something else?

thanks!

MeSquared

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Yeah, swimming is good. Any exercise really.

If you improve your abdominal muscles with situps and crunches and so on, you will improve the tone of your stomach, which will flatten it to an extent too.
    Sit ups are good, but any kind of earobic excercise will help to burn off calories.
    i read in fhm once about this breathing technique, and ive tried and tested and would recomend. im not too good at explaining this sort of thing, but here goes.

Lie in a postition where your backs on the floor as and your knees are bent (as if your are about to start a sit-up)Breathe in normally, and as you breathe out tense your stomach inwards as if your trying to fit into a tight pair of trousers, hold for 2-3 seconds then relax as you breathe in. Repeat for about ten 10-20mins and you will feel that yout abs would have done a proper workout! Do this everyday.

its great because you can do it while your watching TV or something. For a reference its in FHM either June or July 2003, in the health questions section near the back