Home We Need You
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

dispelling the myths...help needed

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I am a mature student and recovered self harmer and as such I am compiling a report for my psychology course on the subject of self harm. I hope to be able to dispel some of the myths surrounding this subject and hope that some people on this board may be able to help me by sharing some of their experiences with me. Confidentiality and empathy guaranteed, answers to the following is the type of information that would be useful to me, many thanks.
SELF - HARM.

1/ When did you first engage in self - harm?

2/ Do you recall the event or emotion that prompted you to engage in self - harm?

3/ What method of self - harm do/did you use ( cutting, burning, etc)?

4/ Do/did you have a “ritual” for your self - harm, i.e: a particular tool, time or place?

5/ How does the act of self - harm make you feel, during and after?

6/ Why do/did you engage in self - harm?

7/ Have you sought help from others?

8/ Is/ was your self -harm a secretive act?

9/ Do/did others know about your self - harming? If so how do/did they behave towards you?

10/ Have you had any medical/psychiatric treatment for your self - harming behaviour?
If so what type and has it helped?

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    i used to self harm, but a quick question: have you spoken to the mods about posting your questionaire?
    I've moved this to the We Need You Forum because we don't want loads of r4equests and surveys clogging up the real discussions.
    1/ When did you first engage in self - harm? 13/14 I think

2/ Do you recall the event or emotion that prompted you to engage in self - harm? Immense rage

3/ What method of self - harm do/did you use ( cutting, burning, etc)? cutting