Home Drink & Drugs
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

I've given up.

SkiveSkive Posts: 15,282 Skive's The Limit
Smoking.

My mother's got lung cancer from smoking and it look it's almost certain that's what she'll die from.
Having seen what this utterly pointless drug does I've decided I'm better off without it.

I've been smoking for about 8 years now but I reckon it's never too late to give up. I've gone 5 days so far and have found it quite easy. Going out on the weekend will be the biggest test though.
Weekender Offender 

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    sorry to hear about that mate :(

it is a pointless drug, no benefits from it whatsoever, i've tried to stop aswell and the weekends realy are just too much in terms of temptation, but anyway good luck with it
    best of luck skive.
    it realy is the worst drug on the market and as you say ...utterly pointless.
    me ...i've been a slave to the stuff for longer than you lot have lived.
    i'm aiming once again to stop ...on my birthday.
    Sorry to hear about that. :crying:

Good luck quitting and i think the weekend will be the hardest test. Especially if your not sober.
    Good luck dudes
    I'm sorry about your mum, best of luck with quitting smoking. Lung cancer runs in my family and suppose it's acted more as a deterrent for me. :(
    Skive -

Good luck
    Good luck
    Good luck
    Good luck
    Good luck :thumb:

It sucks about your mum, man.
    But she'll be very proud of you for giving up, eh?

Keep us posted as to how you're doing.
    I'm sorry to hear that Skive, nasty news indeed, I hope at least the time she has left is as good as it can be.

And best of luck with the giving up, though of course its not about luck, just stick with it, think of the money and harm compared to the high.
  • JadedJaded Posts: 2,682 Boards Guru