Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

going on antidepressants, what are the first few weeks like?

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I'm having a really hard time at the moment. Seems like everything has come at once and I feel like I can't cope. I should be focussing on my work (I'm a final year student with all my work due in a matter of weeks) but I just keep crying and worrying about the future.

I really want to see the doctor and ask for some help but I have some concerns: if I am prescribed anti depressants, will I be able to get through the next few weeks or do they take some time to kick in? Does anyone have any experience? I know they can have side effects, I can't really get my studies finished if I can't sleep or feel sick, but at the same time, I am getting nothing done at the moment feeling so miserable.

Comments

• Options
    well firstly, they may not put you on anti-depressents. Despite what the media, and everyone says, gps dont all want to put you on anti-depressents. My gp didn't want me to, but after visiting her a few times, we both agreed to give it a try.

Also, you may not see an improvement at all, like alot of medicines, theres all different types, and so finding a suitable may take time, and experimenting.

Anyway to answer your questions. Anti-depressents take a few weeks to kick in, normally about 4-6 weeks i think they say. But they could help before, or it may take longer, or like i said they may not help at all. As for side effects everyone is different, and its hard to say whether you will have side effects and if you do when.

Go and speak to your gp, and talk through your concerns with them, if they suggest anti-depressents.