Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

any other funding but student loans?

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited March 27 in Work & Study
:crying:
hi there... ok heres the situation in a nutshell. my little bro is in final year of a levels and hoping to go to uni in either our home city or in a city about 45 mins away. he really wants to live in halls. my dad (him and my mum are separated) however, refuses to pay his rent the way he has mine ( i am studying 3 hours away from home and so he pays my rent). my mum cannot afford to pay for my bro to stay in halls. i find this totally unfair and am SO angry at my dad for being this way...and feel incredibly guilty for being able to live in halls / house when my bro may have to commute from home and miss out on the uni experiecne :crying:

i am wondering if there is any other funding available to students?? other than that of the student loan and tuition fee help. if aanyone can help please help!! its stressing me out and i cant imagine how my bro feels - its bad enough starting uni but being unsure about where hes going to live is even worse.

thanks xx
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• Options
    why cant he get a student loan? i think ou would find that most people have to pay their rent out of theres
  • Options
    why doesnt he work througout the summer, save his money as im sure that will cover some of the rent.a lot of students have to pay for their accommodation with their student loan.there are several different ways of payment, eg. monthly, quarterly etc. so he should be able to cope with it, most students have to. other than that there are some funds which he may be able to appy for when he is at uni, but he will need to look into that at the uni.
  • Options
    TheOne wrote: