Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Summer Work?

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hi guys :yum:

I'm in my first year of uni and wondering what to do for a summer job (I so need one, horribly horribly overdrawn!). Any tips?

I'm thinking about Camp America, it would look good on my CV as I want to apply to do a primary PGCE, have any of you done this and if so what was your experience?

Thanks xx

Comments

• Options
    There's a poster for camp america in our common room at school, says on it how much the pay is. Can't remember how much but it sounded really shit. Works out at something like $70/week. I guess you get accomodation, meals etc and if you're doing it for your CV doesn't matter that much. Don't think I'm gonna do it though when I've finished school. Good luck if u do it.
  • Options
    some people get factory jobs. ok so not the best job around but i'm told they pay alright. and well if needs must... :yes:
  • Options
    You should do Camp America for sure. A girl I know has done it a couple of summers and loved it! Seriously. She made heaps of friends and said it was just great. I think it would be an excellent opportunity but I was never bold enough. Something like that isnt for the money, its for the experience. If you just want money do telesales.
  • Options
    patrick*gringo*patrick*gringo* Posts: 147 Helping Hand
    I have never done Camp America myself but I know friends who have- and who have enjoyed themselves a lot. One thing I remember them all saying is that you should be prepared to work hard. But it is a bit like life- your time will probably be what you make it. Have you checked out Camp America's website?

If you are interested in earning money rather than having an interesting time you could consider this link on working during the summer.