Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

I'm confused

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hi, I'm new to these parts, but I've noticed how helpful you lot can be.

anyway

I'm 20, a student in N. London and I'm desperately looking for a job specifically evenings and/or weekends. My problem is that I've never really had a job before, I worked one day marshalling at a paintball site, which i didn't get paid for, ontop of my GCSE work experience, which was completely irrelevant to anything that I may want to do (office work, one of the most depressing weeks I've had in my life). So I basically have nothing worthy to put on my CV. I have no references to speak of. All that is on my 'CV' is my education and a couple of things I volunteered to do at sixth form college (nothing major, just mentoring and live sound for a production of Jesus Christ Superstar).

So, I ask you, what kind of job can I get with that, and considering the following?

I was going to go for a couple of bar jobs available at the moment, but I have major reasons as to why I seriously don't want to do either. I don't want to work at a supermarket for certain, not least because Its quite a trek to get to my closest one. I have an absolutely appalling phone manner so telemarketing etc. is out of the question, and I'm not desperate enough (yet) to work at a factory or similar.

I have asked at various musical instrument retailers about jobs, this would be ideal for me since I know so much about musical instruments, and its one of the few things I'm actually passionate about, but they all want experienced staff, even the tiny crummy little shops do, so how do I get my foot in the door?

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru