Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Future

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited March 27 in Work & Study
how do everyone decide what they want to do in life, i mean im studying A-levels and i kinda know the field that i want to go into but if for some reason that i dont get into it, what am i to do? how do the student at uni decide what course they want to take? and how and when do you know what you want to pursue a career in? sometimes i question the purpose of life, what is all for? anyway that is a new discussion. well we discuss this and i guess that this may be targetted at those who dont know what they want to do in life.
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    :(

I did 3 years at college, didn't know (and still don't) what I wanted to do when I left college or anything.

At college I did A-level Sociology and really enjoyed the Criminology Unit. I'm at Uni now, and in my 1st year studying Criminology and Social Policy. My reasoning behind going was because it was something (I thought) I was interested in and well to be honest I had nothing else to do! And also thought it might inspire me. Or something.

If you have an idea of what you want to do as a career (unlike me) and doing a degree will help, then go for it. If you decide you don't like it, you can always leave.

I know how you're feeling, and it's not very nice thinking you have to decide but you've got all of your life, try not to let it bog you down.