Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

There is some modules/parts of degrees that you never like

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited March 27 in Work & Study
There is some modules/parts of degrees that you never like.

For Example:
I am studying Software Engineering. Software Engineering is the design, coding, implementation and testing of Software (for those whom did not know).
Some of the modules that I am required to do (to pass the course) are not anything to do with the mentioned areas. For example REQUIREMENTS SPECIFICATION!!! I absolutely hate the subject, its kind analysis, but not all of it, its how to write a specification document about what sort of happens now, what may be good in a future system but the main things is writing about what people want... it has nothing about the proper analysis (e.g. going around the system, analysing whats going on, asking questions etc etc) its just a pile of pants!!!! Now what does this have to do with Software Engineering?? fair enough we have to know how to read the document, but it doesn't require a whole semester long module about it.

This semester is bad for me, another module called Data Structures is OK, but its a bit easy and I often get bored of it... what makes it worse is the programming language is Pascal. yuk, pascal is horrid. The only module I like in this semester is Systems Programming which is all about C Programming, Linux and Unix. Bring on the better modules next semester I say!

Anyways, my main objective of this thread was for you people to say which modules/units/parts of your course/degree/other which you really dislike and explain why.

I have had my moan, now time for yours.... :)

ciao for now...

... Daniel
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru