Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Writing to Teachers

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited March 27 in Work & Study
Hi everyone,

Just wondering what your view is about this really? Anyone ever wirtten to teachers/maintained friendships with them? We've been discussing this informally at school and the general consensus is if you're happy and the teacher doesn't over step the mark then what is the problem? As long as you can remain professional in school then there is no problem (we're talkng friendships- NOT relationships)
We're sixth form students and so are encouraged to maintain good comuunication between teachers...

what does everyone think??
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    I am a trainee teacher and there are a whole host of guidelines that we have to follow about 11-16ya pupils. There is nothing wrong with a professional relationship (chat in school etc.) but a personal relationship is probably not a good idea. Although a friendship is not forbidden it does put a teacher in a potentially vunerable place. This is why personal friendships (out of school) are uncommon outside of school.
    Because there is no personal relationship whilst in school i think friendships are rare once a pupil has left.

However i know from experience that teachers are always really pleased to catch up with old pupils to see how they have got on.

16+ education teachers in my experience are different because of the informal atmosphere and the age of the pupils. Friendships are common and i myself still speak to a few of my A-level lecturers.
    i'm in year 13 and certainly will continue friendships with some of my teachers.
    Don't see why not tbh.
    Originally posted by capetownsun