Home Drink & Drugs
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Nicotine

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Ok, this is for all the smokers out there.

I have been smoking for about 5 years, I have never been the 20 a day puffer, but i've been through stages where i've smoked everyday, just smoked at weekends, just smoked spliffs, stopped everything completely, and i still don't feel addicted.

At the moment, i smoke when i go out, but not always, and have a spliff every evening, and i still don't feel the horrible urge which everybody warns me about, even though i work in an office full of smokers who do it in my face.

Therefore is smoking as addictive as everyone claims for everybody?

I ask this as i don't want to become addicted, i want to be able to stop when i want, and after 5 years i still can, but i don't want to wake up one day and find this isn't the case.

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    You'll feel the urges when you stop completely in the long term. Try not smoking for a week or so and if you can't manage it, you'll know you're addicted.
    im like this, dont feel addicted at all to smoking. occasionally i'll crave a fag but not very often and i can quite easily go without.
    I do get the relaxing feeling from smoking but just dont seem to get addicted (which is good i guess). its not very noften that i'll smoke, usually just when im feeling really stressed.
    but i was wondering if smoking is really all that addictive as well...
    I say at this moment in my life i couldn't go a week without cigs. ;)
    yeah maybe stop a few days without smoking anything and go back to work where you're around the smoke. You almost want to eat it, the cravings are that strong.