Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Part-time Job

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I'm just beginning my second year of Uni and am looking for a part time job (12-20 hours a week) in a shop of some kind.

I've worked in a clothes store for the past 3 years. They're generally okay but they're pretty harsh on their staff - low pay, no sick pay, and stuff like they've had me in 32 hours a week all summer and turned round this week and told me they don't have anything for me....:(

Now I wanted a transfer to this store in my Uni town, and did everything I possibly could on my part - been chasing them since mid-July and ended up making a 200 mile trip to go for a 10 minute "chat" last week. They said they'd get back to me this weekend and tell me whether I'd got the job or not.

Now, if I /do/ get this job, do I want it?

Comments

• Options
    Well, I suppose you can take it for the time being, but don't be afraid to send out CVs and go for interviews in other places - in university towns there tends to be quite a quick turnover of staff so there should be lots of jobs available. To be honest if you're just looking for part-time shop work its unlikely that you'll find anywhere that pays a lot of money or gives sick pay, but you might find somewhere where you're a bit happier to work.
  • Options
    Unfortunately I go to a University where jobs aren't exactly plentiful (despite the fact that most people don't need a job).

And my problem is: if I say yes, I've verbally agreed to a contract, and I have sent out my CV to other places, have had another interview somewhere else and have one, if not more, interviews lined up. The problem is I may not get them.