Home Drink & Drugs
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Marajuana and Mental Health

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Not sure if I posted this before..

Just thought some of you might be interested..

Clicky click

Phil

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    That's really odd :shocking:
    it didn't realy say very much did it.
    i've been smoking this shit for 36 years and i function very well thankyou.
    in fact the word function is the word i overuse the most. my wife says that on my tombstone she's going to have engraved ...'ceased functioning.'
    i interact with the big wide world very sucsessfukluy thankyou.
    21st century schizoid man ...sok ...just a song by king crimson ...
    Of course it causes problems for some people, its not very surprising. I get quite annoyed by the people who see it as a totally harmless drug which could cure all the worlds ills.

THC is a strong drug, and if used when someone is depressed or by someone who has a history of mental illness it can cause problems. And as with any drug it can be addictive and can be used in a harmful escapist way.
  • JadedJaded Posts: 2,682 Boards Guru
    If you want some more information have a look on the MIND website (type cannabis in to the search) or click on one of these links -
    A paper from cannabis.net, New Scientist, and mentalhealthcare.org.

As you can see if you read through some of these articles, the link is suspected between cannabis and schizophrenia, particularly with susceptible people, but the research has been quite contentious. I don't think you can discount it altogether though.
    The problem is the difference between causation and corellation.

Just because the two things are linked does NOT mean one leads to the other.

For example.