Home Politics & Debate
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

The royal mint and taxes!

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Okay, i know this will probably sound dumb but i've bin thinking about it for a while and nobody seems to be able to explain it to me or give me a good reason why the hell not.

The royal mint produces money, why the hell don't we produce money and give it to third world countries etc.
Or no longer raise taxes, all tax rises be compensated by an increase in money production.

I know it sounds dumb, i don't see why not, could some one tell me, its probably got something to do with the economy.
But i'd like to know.:confused:

Comments

• Options
    I'm no expert in economics but I don't believe that tax rates and the money supply are wholly linked.

Money is simply a medium of exchange, which is considered more feasible than barter.
  • Options
    If we produced a lot more money the £ would be worth a lot less than it is eg a loaf of bread would cost £75845473893756.

I am no expert either, I think its also got something to do with how much Gold, Silver etc a country has.
  • Options
    Originally posted by godscop
    I am no expert either, I think its also got something to do with how much Gold, Silver etc a country has.

In ye olde days a country could only print as much money as it hard in reserves of gold.

It's not quite so strict now, but there is only a finite amount of resources a country as, so it can't keep printing money as each bit of money would increasingly be worth less. The Weimar Republic in Germany is the best example of this- they kept printing money, so consequently you needed a wheelbarrow full of money just to buy a loaf of bread and a pint of milk.
  • Options
    thanks

Thanks for the explanation.:cool:
  • Options
    Replace money with electronic labour credits.
  • Options