Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

scared about starting new job

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Ok i know this sounds stupid but im starting a new job as a travel consultant on tuesday, the thing is i have been out of work for few months cos i was sick and now im going back into a job i have no experience in and it scares me..

There is going to be training but im scared in case i cant do it.. when i go back to work i lose all my sick benefit payments and im scared that il have nothing to fall back if it doesnt work out.. im freaking myself out so much ive even considered not taking the job at all even though its a great opportunity for me, how can i get over my fear, any ideas?

Comments

• Options
    First of all.... CONGRATULATIONS! And well done! :D

I know what you mean about being scared that you can't do it... But try and hold on to the fact that the employer interviewed you and decided you would be suitable for the job... it is their responsiblity, not yours, to make sure you have enough training to make you competent to do your job... It doesn't matter how many questions you ask, how many times you ask them or how long it takes you to get the hang of things, so long as when you've learnt how to do stuff then you can do them well and are a good employee; and they've already desided you look like you have the potential for that... so trust them! They won't leave you without any help or not knowing what you're doing, because they know you will be representing them and want you to do it well.
    I'm sure once you start and begin your training you'll relax a little because I'm sure they'll be very reasurring. :)

Everyone gets at least a little nervous before doing new things; it's completly normal.
  • Options
    Lu_C wrote: »