Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨

Help me understand Elasticity

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited March 27 in Work & Study
I was taught at school that if the price of a product rises and demand stays the same then that product is Elastic. In uni I just can't get my head around the questions abpout elasticity that they are asking with the equation and the definitions.

Please, someone with a knowledge of university level economics (I'm in 1st year) please describe it to me so i don't go in next week and totally fuck up me exam!
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Is there nothing about it in your textbook?

I'm not superbly familiar with the English words but this is one of the things I was doing as a part of my microeconomics course last semester. :)

It's easiest to get your head around it if you understand the extremes, or at least I felt that way. Taking an example from my final exam, there was one question in which we had to draw the elasticity and explain the supply of paintings by Rembrandt. First is to identify that he is a famous and very dead painter so what is the elasticity likely to be for the supply? Perfectly inelastic because no matter how many want his paintings, no more will be produced!
    Now if it's copies on the other hand, the supply will be pretty elastic and based on the price people are willing to pay for them.