Home Home, Law & Money
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨

Benefit Fraud question

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I recieved a letter this morning from Jobcenter Plus telling me an investigator wants to interview me under caution as they suspect I have claimed benefits fraudulently.

Initially I was at a loss over this as I've been working in the same job for more than 18 months and have never (knowingly) claimed anything I was not entitled to.

I called the number on the letter and asked for the person who signed it.

He came to the phone and was very nice - I told him I realised there was a limit as to what he can reveal to me about this but I had no idea what was going on but intended to cooperate fully with this and would attend the interview, however I wanted to know a little bit so I could give him definate and confirmed answers to his questions.

All he was able to tell me was the alleged offence occured in May 2005 and he also gave me the name of the company he believed I was working for.

This rung a bell - I did work for this company and was making a claim for JSA/IS (can't remember exactly which one) however my plan was to come in on my usual signing day and inform them I was no longer making a claim and to give them the relevant dates.