Home Home, Law & Money
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Tv licencing (again)

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
So, I'm a student, without a TV - just a computer without a TV card, but I can access www.bbc.co.uk via the net. Anyway, TV licence letter says:
TV people wrote:
Equipment which you need a licence to use includes:
  • Television - colour or black and white
  • Video or DVD recorder
  • Mobile phone
  • Set-top box
  • Computer

Then, "if you dont buy one there is a fine of up to £1000 plus legal costs .... our enforcement officers successfully caught 380,000 offenders last year"

So, £1000*380,000 = £380,000,000 = 12.93% of the BBCs annual income from consumers, and seeing as there are a lot of TV licences out of there, it seems ridiculous that a small proportion of people should pay so much.

So, if they come round my house, will I be fined because I own a computer that can access the internet?

Comments

• Options
    You only need a licence if you access TV, people read the news website from all over the world.

And you will notice the wording 'of up to £1000' as in they dont everyone that.
  • Options
    So, £1000*380,000 = £380,000,000 = 12.93% of the BBCs annual income from consumers, and seeing as there are a lot of TV licences out of there, it seems ridiculous that a small proportion of people should pay so much.
    Up to £1000, not £1000.
    So, if they come round my house, will I be fined because I own a computer that can access the internet?
    Guessing you mean TV. No, you need a TV licence to use the equipment as their website says, not to own it. And how would they find out? Actually, just re-read it and I'm guessing you actually meant what you wrote, and not my useless interpretation of it.