Home Home, Law & Money
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Paying your keep at home

Comments

• Options
    Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    i'm living at home because i graduated all of 3 months ago! i have 2 big overdrafts which i need to pay off and im trying to start my career, for which im expecting to be paid crap money at the start. however i'm used to living away from home so next year me and some friends are going to move out together. i cant wait :D

well by the sounds of it i'm getting a cheap to average deal at home. it was just a shock at first because i've never had to give my parents money before! but now i've paid a couple of weeks i don't mind and feel quite good about it.
  • Options
    I think I'm (well, I KNOW I'm) rather spoilt in that respect. MY mum mentioned about kids paying board at 18 a few weeks ago, and when I said that I would providing I had a job by then, she just laughed and said no.

I am planning on moving out though, 6 or so months after college, after I've had chance to get a full time job etc, and I already pay for most of my food, clothes etc, I buy evertyhing of mine myself really, unless I get treated, and I do myself a mini food shop every week. It's been that way since I was 16, but just recently, I've been let off the food while I wait to get a job again.

I hate not being able to get all my stuff I usually have though :)
  • Options
    Fiend_85 wrote:
    Easy mr judgemental, we all know what you're like, but has it occured to you that they're living at home to save up for their own place and get it a bit faster?

I'm sure some are, but most people who live at home don't seem to be.

That's unless the expensive bar in town, and the MetroCentre Debenhams, are really a savings bank.
  • Options
    nicx1811 wrote: