Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Help Needed in Choosing The University

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited March 27 in Work & Study
Well friends, i am an international undergraduate student from India and have completed my 1st year in Electronics Engineering at the University of Newcastle upon Tyne with 71.5% marks. Now i am planning to plan to shift the University bcoz Newcastle's studies aren't that good. Also their job prospectus is also not very good.

I have recieved offers from King's College and Universty of Bristol. Now i can't decide which University should i be going to. I am on a scholarship of 2500 pounds per year at the University of Newcastle. But money is not important as it doesn't matter to me. I want to get the best possible education.

The rankings are misleading me. Last year King's was 6th Overall and 3rd in my field according to Guardian. Now Guardian says, King's is 7th Overall is not even in first 10 for my subject. Also, Sunday Times says King's is 13th overall while the Times says King's is 17th Overall.

I am really confused bcoz King's name is famous worldwide. We talk to anyone about King's College, they know about it. While for Bristol or Newcastle, they don't know.

Also, i am looking with the prospectus that i am looking forward to do my Postgraduation from Imperial or Cambridge. So, for that point of view which University should i choose.

Please help me in this regard.
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• Options
    Hi,

Personally I would say stay where you are and save your money unless you are really rich and get good grades and do your post graduate wherever you like.