Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

The Best University Student Experience

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited March 27 in Work & Study
I'm considering perhaps doing a Masters Full time in September

not sure which course yet. But I did business at degree, but I want to do something quite specific for a masters.

But as well as a good course - I'm very much looking for the complete university student experience.

The place I did my degree at was at a brand new campus that had only been opened about 1 year when I got there and the town didn't have any kind of student scene and the people running the campus didn't have a clue at what they were doing.

Also important is I want to do it far away from London and see a totally different side to life

I almost did a master near where ilive BUT when I spoke to the new tutor of the course all the answers to my questions were "I don't know" so I figured he'd know less about the subject then I did.

Also I found out the course although being classed as fulltime was 1 solid week of lectures 9am to 5pm - for 5 days in a row and then 3 weeks of working on your own and with classmates but in your own time.

That didn't seem much like a fulltime degree to me.

So what uni's have the best overall students experience, i.e.

Nice campus,
good accomodation,
nice people,
international crowd.
teachers that haven't spent their entire lives in education and have been in the real world
good student life, etc
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• Options
    Loughborough is awesome for all of those.
  • Options
    most things that i have read about masters have said that they have a lot of independant study / self teaching. i doubt you will find any that are 9 - 5 monday - friday.
  • Options
    \
  • Options