Home Anything Goes
Come and join our Support Circle, every Tuesday, 8 - 9:30pm! Limited spaces available! Sign up here
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨

reset

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,324 The Mix Honorary Guru
I thought I may just see if anyone can sort this for me, whenever i try to use the reset button on my computr it just makes the screen go and it starts beeping, i have to switch the power on and off to sort it, ad why, after being on the net for a while, or using a number of programs does it slow down then crash? answers greatly recieved

Comments

  • Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,324 The Mix Honorary Guru
    My goodness, so many replies! lol
  • Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,324 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Originally posted by Snoop:
    My goodness, so many replies! lol

    meaning people don't know and can't help

    Look into these tired eyes. See something you might recognise.
  • Girl-From-MarsGirl-From-Mars Mega Poster Posts: 2,822
    i can.

    you need to get hold of a program called MemTurbo. its shareware i think, but you have to pay after a while (or ummm... find the serial code for it... somewhere...). that will stop the "slowing down".. when it gets really slow, it'll go a bit weird for a bit while it flushes out all the redundant progs and dlls that no longer need to be running, and basically free up some memory for you. thta saves the "omg my computer is going so slow ive got to reboot" thing anyway. not too sure about the reset thingy tho.

    oh and try not to run so many memory intensive progs at once, like a mail prog, browser, photo editing software, winamp, various messengers... etc. thats usually too much for mine and ive got 128mb RAM!

    try www.memturbo.com

    Never put off to tomorrow what you can avoid altogether.
  • Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,324 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Thanx Girl-From-Mars, will give it a try.
  • Girl-From-MarsGirl-From-Mars Mega Poster Posts: 2,822
    and another thing, avoid running icq 2000 if you dont have much memory. after i installed win 2k i noticed my computer generally got a lot faster and mem turbo didnt have to run s often... then i made the mistake of installing icq 2000 (free texts) and now it runs loads and i often get messages from windows saying its run out of virtual memory and that i have to increase the size of my paging file. which i have done. makes no difference.

    Never put off to tomorrow what you can avoid altogether.
  • Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,324 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Firstly, everything GFM said is entirley true - i taught her well <IMG alt="image" SRC="http://www.thesite.org/ubb/tongue.gif"&gt; lol

    Does your PC just freeze, or does a blue screen come up saying ' blah blah error' on it .... or any other error boxes?

    If so, then maybe some of your hardware and / or software is installed incorrectly, and if this has only happened recently then remove the programs / hardware that you've installed and see if this rectifies it.

    Press the WINDOWS key and the PAUSE key together and this brings up DEVICE MANAGER.
    Click the Device Manager TAB and this lists all your Hardware Devices .... If there's a Yellow Circle with a '?' in it then this means that the device isn't installed correctly. <IMG alt="image" SRC="http://www.thesite.org/ubb/smile.gif"&gt;

    If at first you don't succeed, destroy all evidence that you tried.

    [This message has been edited by Powerslave (edited 19-05-2001).]
  • Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,324 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Nobody's mentioned the beeping that was the first sign on PC failure.
    With the symptoms you describe, I doubt it is software fault at all.
    The beeping usually means a part of your hardware is on the blink, most probably your CPU.
    The fact that your PC gets slower and slower then crashes probably means your CPU is overheating and forcing itself to reset.
    Next time you switch your PC off, remove the backing case, in order to let some air flow around your computer, Id also suggest buying a new processor fan.
  • Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,324 The Mix Honorary Guru
    It cant be the fan coz it hasd happened from new, and it also cant be the memory coz I have 20 gig and 128, but it could be over heating coz I think the heatsink on my graphics card is loose, so perhaps that could be causing it, but I still cant understand the reset problem, it is probably a setting somewhere, but thanx for all the great advise. Thanx. x
  • Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,324 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Check the troubleshooting manual that came with the PC, cos this'll tell you the Beep Codes.

    The beeps differ depending on what the fault is and maybe that'll help you determine what's playing up.

    If at first you don't succeed, destroy all evidence that you tried.
  • Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,324 The Mix Honorary Guru
    I didnt get a book coz i built it up with a friend. ?!? But it sounds like this.............Beeeeeep Beeeeeeep Beeeeeeeep Beeeeeeeep........ any ideas?

    [This message has been edited by Snoop (edited 22-05-2001).]
  • Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,324 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Originally posted by Snoop:
    I didnt get a book coz i built it up with a friend. ?!? But it sounds like this.............Beeeeeep Beeeeeeep Beeeeeeeep Beeeeeeeep........ any ideas?

    [This message has been edited by Snoop (edited 22-05-2001).]

    is that 2 short, 1 long what?
    JUst because your memory is new doesnt stop it being crap. The faster your system, the more likely it is to overheat, fans wear out very quickly on systems they arent designed for. However, the beeping may mean RAM, open up your pc and make sure it is all slotted in properley, and buy a NEW FAN!
  • Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,324 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Yeah Snoop, double check everythings plugged in correctly cos simple things make big problems !!

    If you remember what motherboard / BIOS you installed in your PC then try the manufacturers website because they normally have an online manual to download and that'll have the beep and beeeeeeeeep codes <IMG alt="image" SRC="http://www.thesite.org/ubb/biggrin.gif"&gt; and also tell you what the jumper switches do.

    If at first you don't succeed, destroy all evidence that you tried.
  • Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,324 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Much appriciated, thanxs.
  • Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,324 The Mix Honorary Guru
    I see what u mean about that memturbo thing, i havent managed to stay connected to the net for more than 10 mins in a row since i installed it, but i will give it a day or so.
  • Girl-From-MarsGirl-From-Mars Mega Poster Posts: 2,822
    you mean it disconnects you from the net? that's a bit weird isnt it? hmmm..... thats not happened to me before. <IMG alt="image" SRC="http://www.thesite.org/ubb/confused.gif"&gt;

    I love deadlines. I love the whooshing noise they make as they go by.
    ~ the late, great Douglas Adams
  • Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,324 The Mix Honorary Guru
    It seems to have sorted out itself now, its behaving like a good boy, so i may let it stay, i just need to 'find' the serial codes for it now.
  • Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,324 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Originally posted by Snoop:
    It cant be the fan coz it hasd happened from new, and it also cant be the memory coz I have 20 gig and 128, but it could be over heating coz I think the heatsink on my graphics card is loose, so perhaps that could be causing it, but I still cant understand the reset problem, it is probably a setting somewhere, but thanx for all the great advise. Thanx. x

    128MB is not enuff RAM these days. i've got 128 on my laptop, and once i open a media player, the whole things goes to fuck. which sucks. grrrr

    one needs at least 160MB, if not 200MB+

    good luck


    Look into these tired eyes. See something you might recognise.
  • Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,324 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Well if you get the version of memturbo i'll get the serial number or crack for ya .... or maybe Emma will if she still has it <IMG alt="image" SRC="http://www.thesite.org/ubb/biggrin.gif"&gt;


    Bored? Then why not visit www.alza.co.uk :+)
  • Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,324 The Mix Honorary Guru
    I've only just found this post, it's been up for ages though. Ooops!

    You're on Windows, right? And Internet Explorer? Trouble with those is that it's possible to write a two-line virus that will wipe out the lot in a flash <IMG alt="image" SRC="http://www.thesite.org/ubb/biggrin.gif"&gt; not that I would of course! It's a fragile system. Win2000 is a little better, it doesn't crash at the slightest provocation anyway. Thank god for Unix . . . !

    About the browser doing a crash and burn after some time online - yeah, basically poor diddy compute can't cope with too much on at the same time, so give it a break! Also (if you're on Netscape not IntEx) there may be a "lock file" which means you have to find its PID number and delete it.

    Oh the fun world of computers . . . <IMG alt="image" SRC="http://www.thesite.org/ubb/tongue.gif"&gt;

    This is the first day of the rest of your life.
Sign In or Register to comment.