Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨

Whats more important - the job & the money it gives you or the area & people?

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
So what is more important, the job & money or location and people?

My aunt is coming over to visit soon and she is an MP. I am considering asking her if she can get me a decent job back in the old country as finding work here is very hard and even more so in the field I got my degree in. No quarentees she can of course but its a possibility.

However, going back would mean seeing people I don't want to see and being somewhere I have been and am over now. I have no desire to go back and nor to see these people again.

So if I get a chance with a decent job and decent money over there, I don't know what I'd do. It sucks here with stuff but I know it, and it sucks there but might have better prospects.

so what do you think is more important generally? people and location or job & money?

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    People and location for me - who would want to spend their whole life wishing they were somewhere else?
  • littlemissylittlemissy Posts: 9,972 Supreme Poster
    People and location all the way.

I would hate to be in a £50k job and hate the people and it have no atmosphere. I want to work in a comfortable environment instead of go home and dread work the next day.
    Walkindude wrote:
    So what is more important, the job & money or location and people?
    My aunt is coming over to visit soon and she is an MP. I am considering asking her if she can get me a decent job back in the old country as finding work here is very hard and even more so in the field I got my degree in. No quarentees she can of course but its a possibility.