Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨

do you work with animals??

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
if so, whats your job, responsibilities, benefits, cash, promotion prospects, etc???
Sorry if im being cheeky, but im after some career advice from people in the careers im interested in (anything to do with animals really), and the internet sites on careers are generally crap!!!
Cheers

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    i think blah does some animaly thing at uni so she might know?
    I'm studying a diploma in animal care at the mo cause i want to be a veterinary nurse.
    I have looked into all jobs involving animals through years of research and all of them (except for a vet) are low paid. If you want a job with high pay then i would seriously suggest not working with animals e.g. a vet nurse can earn anything from 8,000-15,000 and even as a head nurse unlikely to earn more than 18,000. They generally say that you do it for the love of the animals and not for the money which is how i feel.

Also, another point to mention is that a lot of jobs with animals are hard to get into because so many people compete for just one job. That is why i am studying animal care so that i have as much experience behind me as possible.
    Try writing to charities like RSPCA or PDSA and they provide booklets about working with animals-that is what i did.
    im currently studying animal behaviour. i understand about the wages, but obviously a persons gotta live.
    I sorta wonder why people do a degree to get a well paid job, when managers at tesco stores are on 35 grand a year!
    i think blah does some animaly thing at uni so she might know?

:yes:
    becky4131 wrote: