Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Teaching

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I've been contemplating my future recently, and to avoid continuing towards impending doom, I'm starting to have to think about future careers.

I'm studying philosophy at university (along with politics and sociology...both of which i'm planning to drop).

I've realised that teaching could be something I could just about tolerate. Shorter than usual hours, good holidays, respectable pay and avoiding the "rat race". All in all a not too shabby package...

I did terribly at maths at standard grade (similar to GCSE in england), getting a 4...I believe at least a 3 grade is required, so does anyone know what course i would take to get that problem sorted out?

Also...is it true a PGCE (or whatever they are called) comes with a substantial grant to see you through the year or 2 of teacher training?

And would a philosophy degree be a suitable basis for entering into teaching in the first place?

:confused:

Comments

• Options
    It's not shorter than usual hours - there's loads of meetings, lesson plans, marking etc to do. All the teachers I know work way more than usual hours.
  • Options
    Blagsta wrote:
    It's not shorter than usual hours - there's loads of meetings, lesson plans, marking etc to do. All the teachers I know work way more than usual hours.

:yes:

its not the sort of thing you can do just to avoid doing something else either, you have to want to do it, or you will fall flat on your face.
  • Options
    Blagsta's right. My mum's a teacher and she works nearly as many hours at home as she does at school (most evenings and weekends).

How about actually wanting to teach? :confused:
  • Options
    shorter than usual hours, lol.