Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨

Work Experience Dillema

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I am in my second year of university and next June we have to have a mandatory three weeks of work experience in the field of journalism.

So I applied to a magazine that I've read for a long time and enjoy for work experience and was really pleased to get a reply saying "yes".

However I received my information pack today and looking at what I'm actually going to be doing it's not exactly what I was expecting.

I know with most work experience you have to expect to be answering phones and making cups of tea and stuff. But I am at a point now where my work experience and my study has got me to the point where I am capable of subbing, writing my own editorials, writing features etc and I think that if I take the work placement here and do the stuff that I am going to do. Sure I will have the work experience to put on my CV but I won't get the experience i want.

I've done lots of work experience before at places like thesite (wooo) and News International. Both places where even at the age of 14 and 17 I was able to write my own editorials and got stuff published.

Should I continue my search for work experience that will actually get me to use my skills in subbing, editorial writing or stuff. Or should I keep it and make tea, answer phones and generally just get the experience for my CV.

Help please :chin:

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    im so jealous of you

i only got to visit thesite.org

you got to work there :(
    MrG wrote:
    im so jealous of you

i only got to visit thesite.org

you got to work there :(
    Awww. Everybody is really cool aren't they? I bought some DVD's off Jim as well haha