Home General Chat
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨

New York for New years 2006

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited January 2023 in General Chat
For years me and a friend have wanted to visit new york over new years when we both turn 21... This will be next year and I was just wondering, travelling from Belfast to New York, over a holiday period for say 5 days, how much money should I begin saving up? She's told me £2000 but theres not a chance in hell I'd be able to save that much - I'm a f/t student and she has a full time job.

Any one give me advice on a budget?
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Flight 300, hotel for 5 nights over holiday period 500, plus whatever you spend.

Two grand would give you a great holiday, but you could do it for less if you were willing to stay in a youth hostel type place, or stay out of town. I haven't been but I'm planning to in June. Hopefully :D
    Groovay. :chin:
    Thanks for the reply, I've been on the flight sites but they don't go up to Dec 2006 yet.
    $100 a night in a hotel? Only if you want your next door to be a hooker. Especially in New York. At least $150 a night for an ok hotel.
    I may cash in on the old relatives over there, see if they can accomodate a yankee irish mongrel and a small friend for a weekend then. $150 a night! I think I may have a heart attack :eek:
    I went for 5 days with my ex-fella in June 2004, got flights with Continental direct to Newark, stayed at the Milford Plaza (recommended for the price/location, its on Broadway, one block away from Times Square... amazing. It was really clean too.) Flights and accomodation came to £600 each... and I spent about £1200 when I was there.