Home Politics & Debate
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Healthcare

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Story

6.jpg

For a change, lets step away from whinging about waiting lists, and how you had to wait three hours in A&E and even then some complete bastard who'd cut his arm off got in before you. What do you think of this then?

Comments

• Options
    the title is (as headlines always are) very senstionalist, but I think alot of truth probably lies in it -

if I was a qualified african doctor, I would most probably move to a country where I'd get paid a hell of a lot more money, that's for sure. So the lack of doctors in africa probably is in part due to the demand for them here...
  • Options
    shame, but they dont recruit in certain countries, but people from there are free to apply. What more can you do?
  • Options
    We could tighten the list further, restrict where we get staff from.

Maybe we could get more from India, they have more graduates than all other countries put together, thye must have some to spare.
  • Options
    We should be tapping into this resource.....
    A survey from the Royal College of Physicians (RCP) reveals that 85% of refugee doctors living in the UK who identified medicine, or one of its subspecialties as an area that they had previously worked in, are not currently employed as physicians within the NHS.

The majority (54%) of refugee doctors in the UK are not employed in any capacity. Of those that are working some are employed in the health sector in an alternative role. However, many are forced to work in unrelated fields as unskilled labour and are employed as taxi drivers, chefs and security guards.

Source
  • Options
    Seems a wise option, with the usual checks of course.
  • Options
    definitely.
  • Options
  • Options