Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨

Full-time student/Tax

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I'm 17, I'm a full-time student and I work part time.

I've been paying tax/national insurance the past few months. I thought this was because of how much I've earned this tax year. However, today I was told that because I'm a full-time student, I shouldn't pay any tax regardless of how much I've earnt.

True or false?

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    As far as I know, you have an upper limit to the amount you can earn, even as a student (I think it's around £5k or £6k). After that, you start having to pay tax on it.

I'll double check and let ya know.
    i beleive Chem:Lab is right, even though I am a full time student i have been assesed and have a tax allowance of roughly £4500 so i will only get taxed on any earnings above that

I will never be taxed on any of the £4500 though (having said that i am unemployed at the moment so am not earning anything at the mo :p)
    Everyone, irrelevant of status gets a Personal allowance, and this varies from person to person. The current basic rate is £4895, you pay 10% on the next £1,920 for income tax, 22% on the next £27,980, 40% above this. You will also pay National Insurance at 11%, on the amount after your Personal Allowance.
    Panthro wrote:
    Everyone, irrelevant of status gets a Personal allowance, and this varies from person to person. The current basic rate is £4895, you pay 10% on the next £1,920 for income tax, 22% on the next £27,980, 40% above this. You will also pay National Insurance at 10%, on the amount after your Personal Allowance.

:yes:

the tax allowances are slightly different for married couples, but other than that, i'm pretty sure they're the same for everyone.