Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨

Transferring

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I have been working at a supermarket for about two years, but started uni this september and transferred to a branch near uni.

I asked the manaher about transferring back over christmas and he said thats when they need me most.

I dont want to lose my job, but i dont wanna stay at uni on my own till the end of jan

:(

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    If you'd asked sooner then you might have got it.

As it is, if they won't transfer you you have to fulfil your contract or resign.
    i did speak to the personell manager about 3 weeks ago. She told me to get in touch with my old store which i did and they will take me back. I then spoke to the manager over a week ago so I've given them over a months notice
    A month's notice isn't always enough, given that they recruit in advance according to how many staff they already have on the books. You changing at the last minute (a month is the last minute) won't help matters.
    they knew i was a student when they took me on though so its not like its come as a great suprise
    I find it's always a bit hit and miss with asking for time off.
    I asked my supervisor the other day if I could have the weekend of the 11th December off and she told me it was too early to ask!
    I asked about christmas at the beginning of November though, just to be sure.
    How far away is your uni from your home? How many days a week do you work?