Home General Chat
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Aged 16-25? Share your experience of using the discussion boards and receive a £25 voucher! Take part via text-chat, video or phone. Click here to find out more and to take part.
Options

For people who know about cars.

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
What is a torque (sp?) converter and what happens when it fucks up.

Comments

• Options
    It's a part of your automatic gearbox (transmission). I'm no auto expert, but if I'm right it behaves something along the lines of the clutch in a manual box, sort of engaging the gears smoothly until all the power of the engine is being passed through the gearbox (transmission) to the axle/wheels.
    When it fucks up? Not that sure as auto boxes aren't that common over here and I don't have any experience of them, or having them going wrong. I'd imagine it wouldn't change gear (probably not allowing you to get into top gear), or won't transmit all the power, so the engine seems to rev up a lot while you are going very slowly. Got to admit I'm guessing there a bit.
    I assume you've got a problem with your car, and the garage has said it's your torque converter?
  • Options